Introducing…

…the latest FO, my first project with cables…

Conquistador!!

conquistador2.jpg

conquistador1.jpg

conquistador41.jpg

There are quite a few mistakes, but I didn’t really fuss over them too much; this was a proof of concept hat for me, more of a swatch than anything else. I wanted to try cables, as I seem to be drawn to projects with interesting texture, and I’m really excited about color, so I wanted to see if I could combine them. It didn’t seem like it should be impossible. The problem was that the tension between color changes became too tight, so there was little stretch, and the garter stitch poofed out between cables. It took a few rounds to figure out how to maintain a loose enough tension–I used a yarn over that I dropped in the next round before and after each cable–but once I got into the rhythm, it went pretty quickly. I’m really excited about trying more colored cables… I think I might do a few more hats and try some more interesting cables to see how applicable this method will bewith more complicated designs.

Pattern: Adult Cabled Hat found on Ravelry
Designer: Diana Jordan for Momogus Knits
Yarn: Cascade 220 Superwash in Celery and Wisdom Yarns Poems color 550
Needles: US size 9, bamboo

I named it Conquistador because of the shape it took off the needles

conquistador5.jpg

4 thoughts on “Introducing…

Leave a Reply

