Coming Along

Well, I think I will be done with the matinee coat in time for the shower this Saturday… woo-hoo!! The problem right now is maintaining focus until I get all the pieces knit up as I’m just itching to get outside and dig my hands in the dirt. Last march we bought a new house, and had a new baby and between the two, I didn’t do any gardening last year. I wanted to see what the previous owners had planted before I planned my own, and let’s face it, I had to get painting and packing and unpacking before I wanted to distract myself with gardening. This will be the first home I’ve lived in since I was 16 that would easily support a garden, and not only will I have myself a nice little kitchen garden, but I’ll be able to plant some pretty flowers alongside the house. And next year I think I’ll concentrate on the front, which is a little too formal for me with it’s boxwood (ick!) and pachysandra (double ick). I’m hoping to mix useful/edible plants with some extra pretty ones so I can make the most of the little bit of land we have.

But there I go, distracting myself when the shower is on Saturday and I have the top third of the fronts to do, and two tiny sleeves. I’d also like to do a little bonnity-type hat to go along with the sweater, but we’ll see if I have enough time. Here’s the one shot of the two cardigan fronts done on one needle.

Matinee fronts, done simultaneously on one needle

It took a few attempts to get into the swing of doing both pieces at the same time, but now that I’ve gotten this far along, I don’t see how I’ll ever do cardigan front separately again… uh, unless of course, I blow it on the shaping. šŸ˜‰ We’ll see how organized I can remain. I only frogged it three times to start. And I know this is the process I’ll use to start my first paint of socks… which I’m so excited to start that I’ve queued up three projects that I’ll start before I cast on. Really, how could I call myself a knitter if I don’t even try a pair of socks. I’ve already bought several skeins of sock yarn…of course, you can make lovely little baby sweaters with socks yarn too, not that I’m hedging!!

After I’m all done with the piecing, I’m going to add a few stitches of embroidery, probably keeping it monochromatic,maybe adding a very, very pale blush or green accent here or there. It’s going to be much more girly than anything else I’ve ever finished up, so we’ll see how much embroidery gets added before the party.

The thing I’m starting to realize is how much I have yet to learn, which is really exciting. Every project I’m completing is leaving me with a few more questions about technique, and a few more opinions about pattern writing šŸ™‚ This will also be the first project that I’ll block… the lace is a really lovely little pattern, but the yarn is a tad unforgiving–silk and cotton… so very soft with a gorgeous sheen–and the fabric is a bit lumpy in spots, and the edge is curling. Part of the reason for the curl is that particular cast on I used, the knit on cast on. I have to admit… I despise casting on. I hate that there are so many different ways of doing it, that each one is better suited for a few particular purposes, that most of them are just a twist or two different from each other, that most of the ones recommended use only one needle and some strange knot contortion that I find so difficult to memorize… and finally, that there is so much counting… oh the counting!!

I hate counting.

Maybe these reasons have something to do with why I’m not so keen on crochet as well.

Leave a Reply

