Decisions, Decisions

I have been holed up in my house, wracked with indecision for the past few days. And of course, while I’m trying to figure out this relatively minor detail for the major project I’ve been working on, I haven’t really made progress on anything else, uh, except maybe napping. About two weeks ago, I decided that I had quite enough of the “storage room” we had on our third floor after trying to find some baby gear that we were going to loan to some friends and having almost every “pile” fall over on each other at some point. The mess was unbearable and I snapped. We weren’t planning on doing anything with the room for a while, since we thought we’d make it the play room for the kids once they were a bit older as they’re just a little too young at the moment. But I just couldn’t take it anymore, and began frantically cleaning the clutter and putting together the left-over Ikea office furniture that we were planning on freecycling. It is now going to be the “making” room, otherwise known as my craft room. All of my yarn, fiber, and small fabric stashes, the sketchbooks and art materials, and all the other various craft items I’ve collected through the years are finally going to be in one location. I’m going to share the room with the kids, and move a good deal of their “making” materials there as well, and just tonight I picked up a free table and chair set that I’m going to cut down to kid size and throw up there as well. I haven’t bought one thing yet, other than paint, and I’m really excited to get it finished up… but it’s the paint that’s been holding me up for the past few days me.

Normally I’m incredibly decisive about my paint colors, and have no problems with my choice after it’s on the walls. But occasionally, I’m thrown, and right now, I’m stuck. I chose a rather brilliant turquoise color from Sherwin Williams that I absolutely loved on the first wall, but as I painted each additional wall, I started feeling like it was all a little too much. And by the time I got to the last wall, I was a little frantic about it all. Now some people might be able to live with a color for a while to decided whether or not it’s going to work, but it bothered me so much I wasn’t able to sleep. So I went to Home Depot and bought two gallons of a much lighter, but still vibrant, shade of blue. So here’s what the room looks like right now, with both shades of blue and the green blackboard paint:

I can’t decide if I like the new blue or not. Sigh. I don’t know… I do like it in the picture! And it’s definitely not as overwhelming as the turquoise.

Oh, and if you think that using the Rustoleum Magnatic paint is a good idea, just fuggedaboutet. Save yourself twenty bucks and the time it takes to paint three coats; it’s a great idea, but doesn’t work one lick. Sigh, take two. And although I love the idea of blackboard paint, you really need to sand it in order to get a smooth enough surface to allow the chalk to show up nicely. If I could’ve found a good resource to buy an actual green chalk board to size, I would’ve gone that way. Still might.

Anyway, hopefully I’ll be able to get this room up and running in the next few days, although we are taking some time to get away this weekend and visit some family. Wish me luck.

One thought on “Decisions, Decisions

  1. Good luck with your paint choices and congratulations on getting a room for all your crafty endeavors. I’d give you my opinion on the paint color, but to be honest, I’m horrible with things like that. I don’t choose paint colors anymore because the last one I chose went on the outside of my house .. and I hate it. 😦

Leave a Reply

