Busy… At Least I Thought I Was

I was _really_ hoping to have some pictures to go along with this post, but the camera’s battery is dead, and I can not for the life of me find the charger. I’m getting a little worried about that, since we’re leaving for vacation at 4 am on Saturday, that is, if Hanna doesn’t force us to evacuate–or not even visit–Hatteras Island, where we’re planning on spending the week.

Sigh.

But it was an incredibly busy day none-the-less. I baked six loaves of Ciabatta, I made a double recipe of Spuma do Tonno, pureed and strained a gallon of Creamy Tomato-Basil Soup, set nine pound of peaches in the crock pot for peach butter, and managed to keep the kitchen passably clean the entire time. Actually, now that I have it all listed, it doesn’t sound like that much. But it was. And I’m tired. And I still need to take one more pass at the kitchen before I’ll feel OK about going to bed. But, oh, I’m sitting now, and it’s so hard to even think about getting up.

Tomorrow: packing, packing packing… oh, that is after laundry, laundry, laundry. Hurricane be damned. I’ll stay in a Motel Six somewhere in Kentucky, but I’m going on vacation for a week, and I’m bringing my own food and I’ll have clean clothes!

Hopefully, fingers crossed, pictures tomorrow.

2 thoughts on “Busy… At Least I Thought I Was

  1. “doesn’t sound like much” – seriously dude, that’s a TON. If I did all that (or, maybe half that if I could manage…) my kitchen would look like Hanna hit full force đŸ˜‰

    Oh Hatteras!! fingers crossed that the weather behaves, or at least still allows you some enjoyable vacation time.

Leave a Reply

