Getting Closer

I have three projects that are 95-98% complete, and I’m trying my darndest to push through the final bit of finishing. One is the Manon sweater… I want to do something a little special with the button closures, but I haven’t figured out exactly what to do yet. I want to use an i-cord to “embroider” a pattern on either side of the ribbed band, but I just can’t seem to make up my mind how thin/thick to make the cord and what design to set that won’t overwhelm the beautiful peplum.

And I have this little baby sweater needing trim and buttons… and I also want to make up a bitty hat as well.

And of course there’s the hexagon blanket. I can’t believe that thing isn’t done. All I have to do is stitch up all the hexes together, which I actually kinda like doing, but somehow, it hasn’t been touched for the past month at least. Of course, having my mom stay with us to babysit me while I wait out these last few weeks (only days now!) definitely complicates things, but still!!

I did a design test strip to see how I should attach them, so at least that decision was made:

hex5
First attempt, a single crochet… or was it a double chain? I have no idea… I’m not really an experienced crochet-er.

hex6
The cross stitching looked great on one side…

hex2
but I didn’t really like the opposite side.

hex3
Then I tried chaining around the hexes and linking those together, but I was completely unhappy with the results. I think part of the problem is my lack of experience, but this made the hexes look so wonky and out of shape, I couldn’t imagine putting in all the extra time to make the blanket look even less polished. Rustic, fine… unshapely, uh, no thanks.

hex1
I don’t even remember what I was doing here… but I definitely didn’t like it.

hex4
For me, the mattress stitch really kept the focus on the hexes, so it became the obvious choice.

I have three rows complete, which leaves only, uh, how many does that leave? I’m busy counting something else at the moment.

One thought on “Getting Closer

Leave a Reply

