Winding and Wending

Well, dear friends. It’s official. Boston will soon be our new home. I am in the thick of it right now, calling and coordinating all the various contractors and visits required to put a house on the market. I always think that life couldn’t possibly get any busier, but I should know better by now not to temp fate. Luckily it seems like there is an end in sight and that we might manage to get our home ready and up for takers within a crazy three week time period. It is not a process that I will ever wish to repeat.

But, as I said, I should know better than to temp fate.

We will also need to get our rental home, the first home we bought together, the home in which we were married and brought to it our first babe, up for takers as well. Ahhhh, life is nothing if not interesting.

So much of my time has been preoccupied with these preparations, that I have had very little time to devote to more, uh, leisurely pursuits. However, I am beginning to understand how necessary being creative is to my health and well being, so I have made a promise to not only find a bit of time each day to unwind with a few pieces of handwork, but also to get into the proper mental space to prevent myself from feeling guilty about not spending the energy elsewhere. So far it is going well.

One of the things I’m allowing myself time to accomplish is a bit more wiritng on this blog. There are thoughts about this process, about our home, and our journey that I’d like to capture, to somehow commemorate so that I have a record of it for a later time. I haven’t written as much to this blog as I had once hoped, but I realize now that even the mundane thoughts that I have posted about particular projects have crafted a partial map through my life and that this map itself has also become a creative work. I wanted a record of progress, a trail through my trials and errors, but the activity of blogging and the posts I write have become something different than I expected, and much more valuable to me than I could have imagined. I wish I would have written more.

So, this post will serve as a reminder to myself that it is time to get on with the good work of creation, in whatever form it may take in these next few months. Then to share them with you.

And I have some things to share! Ooooh boy, do I!

One thought on “Winding and Wending

  1. It’s so nice to see you Cheryl. i would hardly call your thoughts mundane – You write beautifully, and it strikes a chord with me even though I’m in a very different situation. I certainly don’t post as much as I’d like and have loads of un-postable half-written thoughts – but they do serve as little place-markers – reminders of important events or projects or thought processes – during the last couple years of my life, and I’m so glad to have them. I’m glad you’re able to take a bit of time for yourself through this process – Hang in there!! Thinking of you!

Leave a Reply

