Felted! Slippers!! Finished!!!

Remember these… well now they’re all done!!

slippers1

OK, so they’re not exactly done… I have yet to add the elastic to close them up, even though I’ve already purchased the cord. It’s hard to get excited about plain old vanilla elastic cord, so I might try to find some funky orange laces or ribbons or something.

slippers2

These have actually been done for months. And I’ve even had the photos for a long time as well. I just completely forgot to post them.

This was my first felted project, and I have to admit that I might make more. The pattern is Felted Snuglets by Maggie Pace of Pick Up Sticks! She has quite a few cute little patterns and I think I just might have to try the Bow cloche pattern for myself. After all, I’m moving to a much harsher climate, right?

This particular pattern was a nice bit of work for me, although if you’re not a fan of seaming, it’s probably not for you. You basically knit up two pair of slippers, each slipper consisting of six separate peices, so all told, twelve individual peices get made up before you start to put them together. The peices themselves knit up rather quickly, but the stitching takes a good amount of time. I chose to use Lopi for the exterior and Alpaca with a twist for the interior. Tha alpaca felted up beautifully; really, really soft with little to no stitch definition, and a very lovely flop to the fabric. The Lopi didn’t felt quite so nicely. As you can see, the stitches are all plainly visible and the fabric is really dense and not very pliable. I thought about throwing them in the washer for another round (the third) of felting, but I’m afraid of how the alpace will handle it. There is already a good deal of disparity in size between the exterior and the lining and I don’t want to warp them much more than they already are. I don’t think i’ll use the Lopi for felting again, but I’m already planning a few items for the kids with the alpaca, and, uh, the cloche for me πŸ˜‰

slippers3

Oldest daughter was very fond of them for the time she wore them, although they were horrendously large, and had no closure. On our hard wodd floors they acted much more like ice skates, so they kept her busy and active πŸ˜‰ I think this year they’ll actually fit. You know, once I get the closures on…

3 thoughts on “Felted! Slippers!! Finished!!!

  1. These slippers are incredibly adorable! Wow though, 12 pieces! You have some perseverance my friend – The finished product is well worth it though πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

