Ducks in a Row

Four days after our house was “officially” on the market, we received an offer which we accepted the following day. Of course, we’ll find out what happens after the home inspection on Tuesday, but it appears that all the work devoted to getting the place ship-shape worked to our advantage.

I am amazed, and saddened. Don’t get me wrong, I am incredibly grateful that we might be able to sell our home in this economy with very little time on the market, but I was banking on having the extra time to say good bye to it. Now that we’re talking home inspections and closing dates, my heart is breaking just a bit every day as I think of a new use for that fabulous closet we didn’t utlize, or re-think the color for one of the bedrooms, or watch the kids run int their crazy circles all over the first floor… or the worst of them all, how I won’t spend another Christmas with my little ones. Oh!

But the home is going to a nice family with little ones of their own, three to be precise! So it will still be filled with laughter, love, and the crazy padding of tiny feet on the floor. That’s more than I could have expected, and I’m so very happy that another set of children will be there to enjoy all the house has to offer!

Now the time I had set aside to begin my winter projects and to think about and prepare how to dole out my time with thoughtful mindfulness this autumn will be spent preparing for a move that is coming altoghether too soon, yet not quick enough. It will be wonderful to have all the family together again, and we’ll have a new town to explore and new friends to meet. And a beach! We’ll have a beach within a short five minute walk and even though I can’t see the water from our new temporary home, I can see it if I walk to the end of the driveway!

And I’ve also managed to squeak in some creative time in the week I had off! I won’t show what I’ve been up to in this post, but I am planning to get some pictures up sometime this week… you know, before the next round of craziness begins!

craftroom

(I did manage to get the craft room / studio completed in time to work in it with the kids. BOY was that chalkboard wall a bit of work!)

One thought on “Ducks in a Row

  1. Moving is bittersweet! And it’s been a long time since I’ve done it, I expect that even while the next one will be long looked forward to, it will be tough still. I can only imagine it’s more so in a place that is really dear and full of memories of your children. That craft room is beautiful – what great light.

Leave a Reply

