It’s What’s for Dinner

on the menu tonight ::

glazedonions

:: lobster ravioli with sherry glazed onions.

This is what you get when you’re living in a kitchen not your own, with an unfamiliar stove, equipment that doesn’t quite measure up, none of your spices, oils, and vinegars, and a very tired mom. I haven’t been cooking many meals these days; we’ve been subsiding on heat-and-serve meals for the past few weeks. The kids are calling it “camping”. Yes, we’re a tad pathetic.

Tonight I cooked up some sausages for the kids and heated up some lobster ravioli for me, thank you Trader Joe! Once the sausage was done and I plopped it in front of the kids (with a ceremonious flourish, I assure you), I noticed how yummy the bottom of the pan looked with all the sticky brown leftover bits. It looked so yummy I came out of semi-retirement and looked at what I had laying around…

…Which was a whole bunch of ‘nuthin.

I did have some onions. And some sherry. And a tiny little pat of butter. So I added some diced onions and a bit of salt in the pan, with a few glugs of sherry and got to scraping up all the browned goodness. I let the onions cook down and soften and brown, deglazing the pan with more sherry when things got a little sticky. In the end, I threw in a teensy pinch of pepper flakes, little bit of butter and topped it off a few ravioli to let them reheat. And then I ate it.

Honestly, it wasn’t so bad. Next time, a nice cheese ravioli, and maybe bacon instead of sausage.

Yeah, I never said I cooked light.

2 thoughts on “It’s What’s for Dinner

  1. Well, you know I consider lobster to be a big plate of death, but the sauce sounds lovely!

    It’s okay for the kids to have “camping” meals while you settle in to the new place and the new groove. I’m sure they’re enjoying it, and I’m also positive that you’re not feeding them junk!

    I have no doubt that you will be inspired and cooking again soon.

Leave a Reply

