Won’t You Be My Neighbor

Our home, quite contrary to what we anticipated, sold four days after it was up on the market.

We were all surprised… surprised and quite unprepared. We have no real right to complain; in the worst economy since the depression, we were able to find a new job and sell our home for a profit. Yet it was a rather draining experience, none-the-less. The summer was a season of upheval, but this Autumn will be a time to regroup and recenter.

What a better way to begin than by introducing ourselves to our next-door neighbors! Of course, new, under-equipped kitchen or not, we couldn’t go empty handed, so we settled in this afternoon to bake some pumpkin ginger cupcakes.

wontyoube2

The recipe from Cupcakes! by Elinor Klivans is a complete joy to bake. This is the third recipe I’ve made, and each one has been a winner. These little cakes were perfectly moist, and with bits of crystallized ginger spread throughout the batter, were not too sweet. The lovely liners were bought through the Bake It Pretty website, a small family/mom run business that began as an Etsy shop. She has absolutely wonderful stuff and I’m always happy to support these kind of businesses.

wontyoube3d

Those of you who know me personally, know how little I actually enjoy and/or excel at baking. But the little ones love cupcakes, and a Momma’s gotta find something to stuff in their craw, err, I mean an educationally-rich activity to complete on a cold, wet, windy Fall day. So far I’ve been pretty lucky, but I haven’t tried anything too complicated yet. There was a disaster with the original cream cheese icing, but I was able to save the day’s work with a recipe for 7 minute frosting. I can’t seem to remember that I have three children–last week I kept referring to my two children–but I can remember some vague recipe I came across a few years ago. Didn’t have any cream of tartar, but google assured me that lemon juice would help stabilize the eggs whites.

wontyoube1

Once they were iced, suited-up, and packed up in their little boxes, we tromped them, cupcakes all and children three, through the fallen wet leaves and into the welcoming lights of our new neighbors’ porches.

4 thoughts on “Won’t You Be My Neighbor

  1. Those look fantastic! And I’m sure you’re being more careful with baking ingredients since the kids arrived. *wink*

    No one ever makes me cupcakes.

    I hope your neighbors are fabulous. We brought brownies to our new neighbors a while back and never saw the neighbors again. And I know I bake better than that!

  2. OMG those are amazing. Is there anything in the world you aren’t good at?! You could start a cupcake place and people all over would come… I’m salivating. Your neighbors are so lucky!

    • HA!!! I’m going to have to read this message to my husband… he will likely fall over laughing.

      Yes indeed, I am quite terrible at few things such as 1. House keeping… good lord if my mother only knew how terrible things looked around here. But honestly, I HATE cleaning with a passion, and there are so many better things I could be doing with my time… 2. Baking, in general… I’m a great cook (if I do say so myself) but I’m normally not so great at the very orderly, step-by-step procedures of baking. Cupcakes and cookies I need to be able to produce ‘cuz it keeps the kids occupied, but not anything too complicated. I have a story that involves adding trash can deodorizer to a batter instead of baking soda… πŸ˜‰ 3. Organization… somehow, although I crave this more than any other trait, this skill totally eludes me. I HATE being disorganized, yet I haven’t found an effective way to get there and stay there.

      Sigh.

      But those cupcakes sure did look tasty, huh? πŸ˜‰

      -C

      P.S. Thanks for making me laugh… I really needed it!

Leave a Reply

