Big Plans

This is it. This is the month I am going to sew. And BOY! I am going to jump right with both feet in a serious way.

 

That’s the plan anyway.

 

I’ve been slowly accumulating fabric, patterns, and projects for about the past two years. A few things have gotten in the way but I’m kind of done with digging for excuses and ready to start creating. Two women have helped get me over the proverbial hump. First Rebeka at Artsy Crafty Babe created this amazing skirt from the Alabama Chanin book, which I’ve had on my shelf for about a year and a half or so. I am so inspired by their work; if I could find the extra money and time I would love to take on one of their weekend workshops. Something about what I saw in that book and on their site really got me going. I love the thought of using something as utilitarian as a cotton tshirt and creating such a wonderful peice of work. And the fact that it is all hand work, and not run through a machine seemed to make it that much more approachable for me. I came across their work as a result of an idea that I have for a memory quilt using my kids’ baby clothes in reverse applique, but that’s a post for another time. I have all the materials lying around, but before I saw Becki’s skirt, I hadn’t found the urge to dive in. Then Autum of Creative Little Daisy declared November as Sew Something Month. Well, isn’t that the perfect alignment of the stars? How could I not take up the challenge?

So here’s what I’m planning on sewing this month:

  • One skirt, Alabama Chanin style
  • Soft Cotton Duck storage containers
  • Basket liners for the baby’s room
  • Proof-of-Concept for the baby quilt
  • This Apron from Sew Liberated

So hopefully, by the end of the month, I’ll have something to be shown from this mess.

plans1

Of course, I still need to finish a hat

plans2

or two. maybe three.

plans3

 

Unpacking? Who eeds to unpack?

4 thoughts on “Big Plans

  1. Dude, you’ve been posting up a storm! Where’ve I been?

    I love, love, love Alabama Chanin. Have had the book for ages and know I WILL actually use it sometime – it’s too good not too.

    Unpacking is highly overrated. We have boxes we still haven’t touched in the 7 years we’ve been in our house 😉 Good luck with all your plans this month. I hope you get some down-time too!

    • Yeah, I was totally hit by the bug for a bit, then I got hit with the “oh my God, my house will never get unpacked if I keep distracting myself form the mess” reality and took a break…

      now I’ve gotten a bigger handle on the house mess, so I’m thinkin’ and feelin’ a few more posts a-comin’! So much easier to write to your creative blog when you’re actually doing creative things!

      -C

Leave a Reply

