Necessity and Invention

Medicine Bottle

These past three weeks have been ever so slightly overwhelming. End of the year school events, parties, science fairs, sick kids, sick mama, doctor and hospital visits, very sick beloved family pet…  it is easy to make excuses as to why blogging hasn’t occurred, but the truth of the matter is that we have been in survival mode for a bit longer than I could have anticipated.

But still crafting has happened. It happens sometimes without much thought because there is a confluence of need and materials and an ever-brief idea. There is that great saying about necessity being the mother of invention. I love it. It’s true.

Chalkboard Label

One of our littles has come down with a virus and a nasty fever that has required us to piggyback ibuprofen and acetaminophin. Between myself (also sick, of course), my husband, and our sitter, keeping track of the timing of dosages has become a problem. It doesn’t help that one is administered every six hours, the other every four. So I grabbed some chalk and a repositionable chalkboard label (Martha Stewart’s Avery line found at Staples),  slapped the label on the bottle, and there we have it. A bit of craftiness that helps simplify our lives, fulfills a need, keeps our family safe, and didn’t require any clean-up. For those keeping score that’s a win-win-win-win-win scenario.

No idea how this will work when we have multiple kids sick at the same time, but I’d rather not think about that right now. I’d like to go catch up on some sleep… no rest for the wicked, so I’m trying to be good.

7 thoughts on “Necessity and Invention

  1. Hope you guys are all better soon! Let me know if there is anything I can do. I can pick up stuff for you or run errands. Just give me a call or shoot me an email. I also have your “Pass It On Gifts” x

    • Thanks Danielle! What a sweet offer. I might keep that in mind should my head finally explode. Yeesh. I’m so tired of having sickness in this house!

  2. Not a lot of time right now, but multiple kids, I’d either do multiple bottles, or have a chalkboard or white board that I could update where I was dispensing meds. That requires ALWAYS keeping the meds in the same place so as to avoid confusion.

    • Yeah, I think we’re going to try the multiple bottles should they all get sick again. Last year when we all had the flu we tried the “chart on the mirror” with dry erase markers, but that didn’t seem to work so well.

      • maybe even different color lids for each family member to avoid potential mistakes? but with luck, you will all be the picture of health – at least for the rest of the summer! Lots o’ love n’ well wishes. (hugs may be contagious)

  3. great idea my friend. i remember making spreadsheets to keep track of the when and needed to refer to it often when multiple doses at multiple times were needed for one sick kiddo at a time. you win the prize for a better idea.

  4. Pingback: Necessity, Inventions, and Revisions | It's Two AM

Leave a Reply

