Rise and Spray and Shine

Unless you’ve been under an internet crafting rock (or experiencing a month like we’ve had… erHEM… then again, these projects have been around for a year or so…), you have probably seen tutorial or two about painting your old shoes. Tutprials such as this one (using nail polish) or this one (with craft paint) or this one (with just straight up spray paint) to give your old shoes a new life outside the depths of your closets.

Enter my loafers, a sunny and warm spring day, and a few too many cans of spray paint.

Preparing Your Shoes for Spray

I’ve had these shoes for… hmm… well, for a long while. As I’m sure you’ve noticed, they have seen better days, and because the last light of day they have seen was the inside of the bag heading to Goodwill, I figured I had nothing to lose even if the paint didn’t take. So I taped them up, shook up a can of paint laying around from another project, and haaaaaaaad at it. No I didn’t do anything special like clean them, or scuff them, stuff them, or even dust them off. I wasn’t convinced it was going to work. Plus, I really wanted yellow shoes, so if the spray painting didn’t work, I wouldn’t have wasted a trip to the hardware store to buy yet another can of paint. If it did, I’d do a better job the second time around.

Shoes All Sprayed

Well, it worked. I had purple shoes. But I didn’t wear them so much. Never did get out of the house to find the perfect shade of yellow.

So I decided, on a whim, to use up the last of the Silver Run n’ Buff, a metallic wax finish, from yet another project for the dining room. I put a little dab on a soft rag, rubbed it in, and buffed it out. Yes, the name of the product also doubles as the instructions, clever you for noticing!

Shoes All Shined

Another Angle of the Shiny Shoes

More Shiny Shoes

Now I have shiny metallic purple shoes that I wear. All. The. Time.

Not so bad for a project that cost absolutely nothing.

2 thoughts on “Rise and Spray and Shine

    • Why thank you so much!! What a great blog you have… looks like you’re not at all afraid to sew, unlike myself. I have plans for pillows, but I can never seem to work up the courage!

Leave a Reply

