Pajamas for KCWC

I did it. I did it, I did it, I did it, I DID IT!!

I made PJ’s! Two sets for two kids, and I’ve kept up with the at least one hour a week of sewing everyday for the challenge. Woo HOO!

Two Sets of PJs

OK, fine, I didn’t sew the tops, but I did embellish them and I say that counts.

Orange Top

Blue Square

And look!! Look at the cuffs!! I did something fancy!

Two Cuffs

Too Many Toes

I made them take their socks off because I found the socks too distracting… so I took mine off in solidarity!

Fuschia Top and Bottom

Blue Top and Bottom

I can’t really do much, but it turns out that I can make things (and decorate them!) with what I do know how to do.

Details Details Details

I won’t mention that the blue pants already have a hole in them, because, well, because I just did and I’m still so thrilled that I managed to make PJs, that I don’t really care all that much. I can sew it back together!!

I’m sewing!! Yay!!

12 thoughts on “Pajamas for KCWC

  1. Great!! I am very proud of you. But the fancy sewing—is that what happened when you went to fast?? Naw, just kidding. They look great and embellishments on a shirt do count cuz you have to imagine what you want to do.

    • Thank you so much!! I’m still a little over the moon about the fact that I made clothes!! I guess scribbly lines are my modern interpretation of embroidery 😉

    • Thanks so much Alex!! How’s your week going? Did you get the machine out of the box yet? I’m dying to see what you come up with!

    • Thank you thank you thank you!! I think pajamas are kind of like the ceramic ashtray of the sewing world… even if they don’t turn out right, the lights will be out, so who cares? 😉

  2. I also should note that both kiddos were wearing their new PJs this evening, and were super-proud of “look what mommy made for me!”

  3. I asked you a question about popped stitching on the flickr pool and thought I’d stop by to give details over here–it took me a while to get ‘itstwoam’ (I’m sleep deprived bc of KCWC) and I love it! When you sew on knit with a straight stitch, it takes some of the stretch out of the fabric. It really matters at the neckline, at the waist, and at cuffs. Straight lines are great for side seams and places that don’t stretch. I’ve seen the decorative stitching you did at the cuff (which I really liked, by the way) and always wondered how folks did it without the seam stretching, and, when it won’t give enough, breaking (or popping) a stitch. Now, silly me didn’t think about the fact that you did your stitching at the bottom cuff of a wide legged pant and therefore it doesn’t stretch. I’ve been sewing for a long time but don’t have a great eye for color like you do–and your photos were great! I also peeked at your story page and positively drooled over your purses. I knit, but not like that!!!

    • Oh My Goodness!! Thank you so very much for stopping by and leaving such a wonderful, detailed comment! Yeah, I’ve had a number of people ask me if “itstwoam,” pronounced phonetically, was a Japanese term that had personal significance. And how appropriate that you had trouble “getting it” because you’ve been working late on a challenge that’s prevented you from sleeping! 😉

      Now that I know what “popped” stitches are, and as you’ve surmised, they haven’t been a problem. My son did “pop a seam” that I’ll need to fix today, then zigzag all my seams like I knew I was supposed to do, but skipped in all my excitement to have him wear! And thank you also for your props on color choices and the little purses. I have a background in art and design and color makes me supremely happy, which you’ll see lots of if you come back (I so hope that you will!).

      Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

