Food on Friday :: More From Ottolenghi’s Jerusalem

I am possibly, maybe, slightly obsessed with the food from Ottolenghi’s Jerusalem. It all seems so fresh and creative and beautiful and, well, alive. Not only are the recipes undeniably tasty, but I feel so healthy and good after eating them, these two especially.

Swiss Chard with Tahini, Yogurt, Buttered Pine Nuts

The Swiss Chard with Tahini, Yogurt, Buttered Pine Nuts is quick, easy, and my favorite meal for the past week. I’m on my third batch. The yogurt tahini sauce is lovely, but a nice dollop of labne, ever so slightly thinned with water, is also beautiful.

Roasted Cauliflower & Hazelnut salad

This is going to be my go-to salad recipe for the remainder of the winter. We’ve made the Roasted Cauliflower & Hazelnut Salad several times now, although here you see it with roasted Brussel Sprouts. It’s nearly impossible to decide which one is better. With whole leaf parsley, crispy celery, and pomegranate (which plays amazing well off of the hazelnuts), and a lovely wisp of dressing including maple syrup (just a touch!), sherry vinegar allspice, and cinnamon, this salad is somehow simultaneously hearty and refreshing, a perfect foil for heavy holiday fare. On night’s when we want to make it a touch more substantial, we add a few smoked mackerel or sardines.

I’m on my last little bit of chard, and I have another head of cauliflower in the fridge, so I’ll be covered for the weekend at least. Then I suppose I should try another recipe or two.

One thought on “Food on Friday :: More From Ottolenghi’s Jerusalem

Leave a Reply

