Pickled Kale Salad

This has to be my number one favorite salad at this very moment…

Pickled Kale

…well, actually, for the past  three years worth of moments. We call it the Pickled Kale Salad ’round these parts. It is not for the feint of heart or palate. It’s this recipe here, although at this point, I’m not sure I use the recommended ratios anymore, I just wing it.

Green Green Green

Of course we still use the kale…

Fresh Parmesan

and fresh parmesan.

Dressing

The dressing is incredibly acidic, which is what you need to break down that tough kale into tender little bites of deliciousness. The garlic and hot peppers really stand up to the strong flavor of these greens, so don’t be afraid of

Favorite Salad

I make this with three bunches of kale, or whatever I can grab from our garden. Unlike most green salads I’ve experienced, it actually tastes better the next day, so making a big batch is a huge time saver and gives me a few ready-to-eat meals throughout the week.

Delicious Bite

When I make it for new initiates, I tend to dial down the garlic and chili, but when it’s just the two of us (oh no, the kids don’t go for this one!), I do not tend to hold back.

One Last Look

I just finished up the last bit of this week’s batch tonight, so looks like I’ll have to make another.

5 thoughts on “Pickled Kale Salad

  1. Love, love, love it. But the kale I have growing is more like a fern leaf. Hope it is as good. And guess what I planted—-SWEET BASIL. I go to the garden and run my hand over it oh so gently and just love the aroma it gives. (I also do that with my lavender, only with the other hand) I know–I’m a dork.

    • not a dork!!! it’s one of my favorite things to do in my herb garden. I need more hands tho, cause I’ve got lavender, oregano, rosemary, thyme, sage and tarragon and they all smell sooooo good! You might want to check out lemon verbena as well – smells like summer to me. 🙂

      • Oh Kerrie: I do love the herbs, but I don’t know what to do with them except “smell” them.

  2. it’s one of my (many) favorites that you make. I’m actually planning on it at home as my 1st CSA pickup this week includes a bunch of kale. It was especially tasty against the sweetness of the fresh lobster, if I recall correctly (which I’m sure that I do!).

Leave a Reply

